My Books

My Writing Process

When I first started writing, I would jot down scenes that popped into my head. Afterwards, I’d go through, add the scenes to what I’ve already written and then bridge the two. This was a terrible way of writing for me. I was writing to the plot, not the characters. My poor characters were lifeless, flat and boring. Don’t get me wrong, I loved the plot and enjoyed where it went. I just need to do massive re-writes to fix the issues.

For my second and third book, I used a different approach. I wrote the story in a linear fashion. I would have an idea of where the story was going, but I refused to write down the scene. This way, I wasn’t forcing myself to use words that no longer felt right or flowed with the characters. I still ran into plotting issues, or writer’s block. Some days I completely abandoned writing and instead read. Other days, I forced myself to write and found the ideas were hiding in my mind.

I’m at the point where I have another massive plot point to write as well as the ending for my third book, but half-way through the book, I hated what I wrote. I took almost two weeks off from writing the book because I seriously detested what was written. I realized it wasn’t the whole book (I loved the characters and their interactions). It was one small part that I added that didn’t mesh with the story or the overall world. It was such a discord that it threw off the entire story for me. I skipped over that part, knowing I need to go back to it, but it allowed me to move forward. I got to the end of the book and realized I wasn’t finished with it. I had a lot more to write. I put down the basic plot points then gave myself another break from the book.

This time, instead of spending my time reading, I decided it was time to re-write the first book. I’ve slated July as my release date. I figured that would give me enough time to do the re-writes, finish book three and then perhaps start on either the second book’s re-write or start on the fourth book. Either one would be a good start.

Leave a Reply

