Writing Tips

Day 10

I know, I haven’t done day 9 yet. I just haven’t had a chance to turn on the TV. This one is: Go sit in a public place and eavesdrop on a conversation. Turn what you hear into a short love story (no matter how much you have to twist what they say). 

It was fun and interesting. I didn’t make it very long as I didn’t have as much time to devote to it as I would’ve liked. Here’s my love story:

 

“I have two frogs” He told her, thinking she might be impressed.

“Two frogs? Why do you have two frogs?” Maybe she wasn’t impressed.  Curiosity and faint dread coloured her words. She obviously didn’t understand why frogs were interesting and made great pets. Perhaps she wasn’t the one for him. While beautiful and intelligent, she clearly didn’t have the same passion as he did.

Disappointment flooded him and he wondered how quickly he could end this conversation.  No sense wasting his time with someone incompatible with him. He wanted long term commitment, someone to have a life with, maybe even children. What kind of life would their son have if she didn’t like frogs? Or, if they had an adorable little girl, she might love frogs too but have it crushed by her mother’s dislike.

Sighing, he replied “Frogs are amazing creatures. They start off as an egg, born as a tadpole and then metamorphosed into a frog. They help keep the insect population in check and are just amazing little guys. They come in so many different colours and are able to live in almost any climate. They are so versatile. What’s not to love?”

Nodding slowly, she had a thoughtful look, as if she was wondering how quickly she could cut ties with him. No need to worry, he thought, I’ll be leaving as soon as possible anyway.

“I’ve never viewed them in such a light before. Personally, I’ve always loved spiders and snakes. I’ve been missing out. Can I come over and see your frogs? And maybe, if they don’t freak you out, you can come over and see my spiders? I have a bird tarantula. It’s as big as my hand. And I have a peacock spider which is smaller than my fingernail.”

She held out her hand, showing him her fingernail. So delicate and graceful. The nails were clipped short and unpolished. He glanced at her short pixie hair, a gorgeous vibrate red, her unadorned ears and neck (no jewelry for this lady) and realized she was perfect. Utterly perfect.

“Yes, I would love to see your spiders.” He took her hand, knowing their future children would have a wonderful, nurturing, spider-loving mother.

Leave a Reply

