About me

A little about me. Part Two

What genres do you write in?
Currently just paranormal romance. I have an idea for another book although it involves an anti-hero. It’ll have to wait until I’m done with this series though.

Do you have a favourite quote from your book(s)?
I have two from my novella, Throwing Away the Good. Both are in reference to one of the characters although I’ve removed his name. Need to keep some air of mystery.  πŸ˜‰

“I would say those stories of me were greatly exaggerated,  but if anything,  they were understated. You’d be right to fear me.”

“He could destroy the world if he so choses, but alas, he has a hero complex. Why I keep him around, I have no idea.”

Have you learned anything from writing your book(s)?
Yep, certainly have. I’m a little crazy and I have voices in my head.
I learned to be more focused and stop procrastinating. Well, somewhat. There are still days where I completely ignore my writing so I can read.

What’s the hardest part of writing your book(s)?
Description. For some reason, I have a hard time adding it when I’m writing. During the editing process,  I’ll go back and spend a huge amount of time to add in descriptions, even if it’s just one line.

Do you keep a notebook near you for when new ideas pop into your head? At work, I do have a notebook and I use it to keep track of everything as well as write out interesting names and amusing quips. But for new ideas, they generally get put into my phone on my memo pad or I’ll start a new word document with whatever scene popped in. In a pinch, I’ll even use my voice recorder on the phone.

If you write a series, do you reread your previous books before you begin a new one?
Definitely! I want to make sure I keep the same tone with the characters. And some times, I’ll notice little details I put in that didn’t make sense or matter at the time but are actually relevant in the next book or two. My subconscious does quite a bit of the writing. Too bad it doesn’t always tell me what’s going on. πŸ˜‰

How much research goes into your writing?
A fair bit, depending on what it is. For the first book, Magic Resistant, I spent two days researching Union Station to make sure I had a clear picture in my head. And it only appeared for one chapter.
I’ve also done some research into magic, different spells, ancient history and etc. Some days it’s a curse as I get more interested in research and forget I’m supposed to be writing.

Well, that’s it for today. Hope you enjoyed learning a bit about me.

Leave a Reply

