My Books, Rambling about life, Writing Tips

NaNoWriMo

I’ve taken the plunge and signed up for NaNoWriMo. Last year wasn’t possible as I had no clue what to do. This year I’m more prepared. I have a  outline. I know my characters. And I have a daily goal to meet.
Now I just need life to follow my desires so I have the time to write. 😉
Writing with an outline is a new concept to me. Not that I hadn’t heard of it before but I’ve never used one. An idea would come to me for a story and I’d start writing. Since I’m doing a series, I do have a clue about where it’s heading but not all the little side trips along the way.
Most times I stare at the ceiling and wait for inspiration to hit. Usually I just get dust in my eye. With a tight schedule I don’t have time to twiddle my thumbs which means making an outline.
True to my myself,  the outline is very sparse.
M meets with S.
R follows S.
and etc. until I’m at the end of the book. I’ve put all the major points I want to hit. Goodness knows with my memory I’ll forget something.
I’ve also good a breakdown for the important problems and the difficulty in solving said problems.
I have to say, it feels great having it written down for me to refresh my mind.
Next up, create a character outline to ferret out any secrets they’re hiding from me. I do know the characters as this is the fourth book in the series and each one has appeared multiple times, but you never know what they might be hiding.

2 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo”

Leave a Reply

