My Books

Misbehaving Characters

The past two days I’ve been in a writing slump. The words refused to come to me, the characters thumbed their noses at me and I had nothing but crap to show for all my hard work. Okay, fine, I wasn’t working as hard as I should have. I’d blame the head cold, except that’s a cop-out.

The truth is, I didn’t listen to my characters. I forgot who they were and how they’re react to certain situations. As this is the 4th book of the series and the three main characters have appeared throughout, they have established who they are. Three strong-willed, opinionated and passionate characters.  And I was doing them a disservice.

Some of the scenes were spot on. Their personality shone through, as long as they weren’t interacting with each other. And other scenes were mired down with flatness. Hell, I didn’t want to read it again! Not good when the author is also bored. When the major revel occurred, it was hum-ho. The characters just kinda sat around going “Now what?” Yep, it was pretty damn terrible.

Which begs the question of how the hell am I fixing this?

I did what any good writer did. I thought about it. *laughs* Yep, just sat around thinking. It doesn’t sound like hard work, but damn it’s difficult. After a day and half of mulling it over, processing it, looking through notes and just plain old thinking, I figured it out. I need to start at the beginning and rewrite everything. There are some passages I will keep although it won’t be presented the same way. The interactions with the characters will change.

I listened to the characters and now hopefully they’ll stop screwing around and make a beautiful story with me. 😉

Leave a Reply

