Interview with Indie Authors

Sawyer Belle – Interview with an Indie Author

Desert Sunrise

Welcome Sawyer! So glad you could join us today. Tell us a little bit about yourself, curious minds want to know.

First, thank you for having me on your blog! I guess the thing people find most interesting about me is that I was born and raised in Las Vegas. That fact has been a conversation starter and an ice breaker in many different places. I come from a large family and was the first on both maternal and paternal sides to earn a college degree. I studied Journalism, English and Photography. I love hiking and camping around the southwestern United States with my husband, two kids and three dogs.

Ooh, Las Vegas, that is interesting! Although I’m more fascinated by the hiking and camping. What else do you do when you are not writing?

Wish I was writing! I am very active with my children. My husband and I homeschool and try to get them out in nature as much as possible. I love girl time with friends, good food and wine parties, BBQs, doing photography side work, and reading amazing stories.

Wow, sounds like you keep yourself busy. Do you have a day job as well?

Ugh…yes. I work in an office, wearing a variety of hats. It’s my father’s construction company and I’m his right-hand gal. So, I do whatever he needs me to do, which includes all of the accounting and HR stuff. It’s a great company and I’m proud of dear old dad’s enterprise. That doesn’t mean I’m not hoping for a successful writing career to take me away from it. 

Yeah, I hear you. Writing full time, no other job getting in the way. Ah, bliss. When did you first start writing and when did you finish your first book?

I’ve written for as far back as I can remember, so it’s difficult to pinpoint a start for me. I wrote a historical fiction book in first grade, about the travels of Christopher Columbus, but I wrote it from the perspective of his fictitious pet dog, a Beagle named Amerigo. I did all of the illustrations as well, and I still have it! It won a district-wide contest. My first adult-rated book? I finished that in 2011.

That’s awesome, and so imaginative! I can see why you won a contest. What about your upcoming book?

My newest just released on April 1st and it’s the second installment in my historical western series: Love in the Sierras. The book is called Desert Sunrise, and it features the tumultuous tug-of-war between the hearts of two characters that will stay with readers for a long time. I really enjoyed this journey with them. It’s wild. It’s adventurous. It’s hilarious. It’s everything I love in a romance.

I’ve heard great things about that book. My facebook is coated with raves for you. Do you base your books on real life experiences or is it all purely imagination? Anything I should look for and go “Ah-ha!”?

Yes! The Love in the Sierras books take place in my home state, and several of the characters are mirrored and/or named after family members. Apart from that, there is a scene in the book that was snipped right out of my teenage years. The hide races. In the mountains, we’d ride large pieces of dried cowhides (they look like gigantic cuts of beef jerky) as they were pulled by speeding horses. It was such a hoot, and so dangerous! It’s harder than it sounds. We’d go tumbling and spinning, flipping and flying in the air as the horses whipped their tethers around. I revived those races in this book. It’s a wild ride!

That sounds… insane! *laughs* My only experience with a horse was when it tried to kick me in the face. What was your favorite chapter or part to write and why with this book, other than the crazy hide races? 😉

Oh, man. That is a hard one for me with this book, because there are so many scenes/chapters that I dearly love. So, I’m going to have to say the final chapter – the ending. I had such a warm satisfaction writing it and reading it. It was the right amount of sentiment, resolution, sizzle and hope.

Now on to the most serious question of all, do you prefer fuzzy or tub socks?

Great question! I prefer fuzzy. My feet take a battering with the hiking and running I do. So, they need some pampering by sinking into soft, fuzzy socks. Ha ha.

Good point. Need to take care of your feet! Maybe I should treat mine to some fuzzy socks. It might not be well known, but I’m a series junkie. Simply love them. What are your thoughts on writing a book series.

Well, since I’m smackdab into mine, I love it! It’s wonderful to be able to continue the journey of a cast you and your fans adore. I will say this, though. It does end up monopolizing your writing and creativity. I have several other WIPs that are continually pushed off for the sake of writing the next book in the series. It definitely makes the juggling act harder, but it’s worth it.

True, so true. And how can readers discover more about you and you work?

Website: http://www.sawyerbelle.com
Blog: http://sayitsawyer.wordpress.com
Facebook: AuthorSawyer Belle
Twitter: @Sawyer_Belle
Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/7338062.Sawyer_Belle
Amazon Author Page: http://www.amazon.com/l/B00JO1PQN2/185-0236699-3015956?_encoding=UTF8&qid=1429201662&ref_=sr_tc_2_0&sr=8-2-ent
Smashwords: https://www.smashwords.com/profile/view/sawyerbelle

Book Links:

Love Sierras Series

Silver Nights
Desert Sunrise

Standalones

Love Lioness
Big Sky Eyes

Leave a Reply

