Interview with Indie Authors

Katharine Sadler – Interview with an Indie Author

resonance

Hi Katharine, thanks for joining us today! Tell us a little bit about yourself.

I’m thirty-. . . something. I grew up with a lot of pets and now have no desire to be a pet owner (I love to visit them, just don’t want the responsibility of owning them). My two favorite books of all time are Wuthering Heights and The Color Purple. My favorite movie of all time is Zoolander. And I like food-food better than dessert.

I hear you about the pets. I’m an animal lover, but I like not worrying about a pet at home. What do you do when you are not writing?

I read. I read a lot. I’ve also been trying pilates and yoga, lately. And crocheting.

I’ve always wanted to try crocheting. And yoga is just so relaxing, as long as you don’t have a kid crawling on you. 😉 Do you have a day job as well?

I’m a stay at home mom.

I always wanted to be a stay at home mom, but then found I didn’t have the patience for it. 🙂 When did you first start writing and when did you finish your first book?

I started writing at ten. I started my first book when I was in my early teens, but I think I only finished the first chapter.

A lifelong passion then. I’ve read some of my old journals. Wow, talk about melodramatic. *laughs* How did you choose the genre you write in?

I grew up loving fantasy novels, particularly Anne McCaffrey’s Pern series. For a long time, I convinced myself that I should be writing literary fiction, but I finally had to admit that I was more suited to writing fantasy and I had a lot more fun and success writing it. I’m currently making a venture into writing romance, which has been a lot of fun. I’d never really read romance novels, until I was trying to write a romantic scene in one of my urban fantasy novels and realized I had no idea what I was doing. You would think it would come naturally, but it really, really didn’t. So I started reading romance to learn how to write a really kick-ass romance scene and I became totally hooked on romance novels.

Muahahaha, romance is a sneaky one. You think, oh what could it hurt? I’ll just read one and then bam! You’re addicted. So now for the most important questions of all, where would you go in a time machine?

I love, love, love everything from the Victorian era – the books, and the art, especially, but it was a really difficult time to live, especially for women. I like to wear dresses every once in a while, but every day? I don’t think so. Not to mention I’d be terrible when it came to proper etiquette. So, as boring as it is, I’d go nowhere in my time machine. I love this time I’m living in, with self-publishing and social media, and now a woman running for president. It’s a good time.

You know, I never really thought about it like that. I guess as a man, it wouldn’t be so bad to travel to a different time in history, but as a woman, there would be so many restrictions depending on the era. With your books, do you base any of it on real life experiences or is it all purely imagination?

I think real life experiences creep sideways into my books sometimes when I’m not looking. I don’t intentionally take a real life experience and try to fit it into a book. I did base one of the characters in The Reaping on a real-life person, but it didn’t work, because the character had been shaped by his past, and so was ultimately entirely different from the real-life person.

I think it’s to be expected that real life creeps in. It’s hard to create something that isn’t based, even loosely off of our own experiences. What was your favorite chapter (or part) to write and why?

I really loved writing the scenes with the red caps in Dying Dreams. They are just so free, and outspoken and a little bit crazy. I had fun coming up with what outlandish thing they’d do next.

Got to dig deep into the insane side, huh? Love doing that, getting to say and do what you normally wouldn’t. What project are you working on now?

At this very moment, I’m doing final revisions on the fourth book in The Reapers series, The Resonance. Once that comes out on April 15th, I’ll go back to editing the first book of a new series I hope to publish later this year.

Sweet, I’ll keep my eyes open for it then! How can readers discover more about you and you work?

My husband has put together a really beautiful website for me and that’s the best place to go to learn more.

Website: http://www.KatharineSadler.com
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/katharinegsadler
Twitter: @KatharineSadler
Pinterest: http://www.pinterest.com/AuthorKSadler
Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/7912840.Katharine_Sadler
Amazon Author Page: http://www.amazon.com/author/katharinesadler
Smashwords: http://www.smashwords.com/books/search?query=katharine+sadler

Book Links:

The Reaping Series

On Amazon
The Reaping
On a White Horse
The Revolt
The Rift
Switch
The Resonance

On Smashwords
The Resonance

Dying Dreams Series

On Amazon
Dying Dreams

On Smashwords
Dying Dreams

Leave a Reply

