Interview with Indie Authors

Nicole Dykes – Interview with an Indie Author

nicole

Hi, Nicole and thanks for taking spending some time with us. Why don’t you tell us a little bit about yourself?

I’m 27 and have been married for almost seven years. We just had our first daughter in October and since I was not working anymore so I could take care of our daughter I finally finished my first two books and I’m currently working on my third.

Congrats, on both the baby and the books! Now it seems a little silly to ask, but what do you do when you are not writing?

I spend a lot of time with my 6 month old daughter. And as much time with my husband and other family as I can.

Of course! All those baby snuggles and adorable cooing. We’ll ignore the less than fun aspects of parenthood. 😉 With all the distracts of day to day life, to you find it easier to work with an outline, or just write?

I try to outline my book first. Usually just scribbles on a piece of paper and then I just go for it. I figure I can always add things in later.

That makes sense. And sometimes it allows the characters to organically grow. Don’t want to stifle them with too much of an outline. Is there any particular author or book that influenced you in any way either growing up or as an adult?

I loved Faye Kellerman when I was in high school. I loved the murder mystery genre. It was only the past few years that I really got into the romance genre. Now my favorite authors are Krista Ritchie and Jay Crownover.

Ah yes, I grew up reading mysteries. Glad you took the plunge into romance. We can never have enough romance writers. With your book, how did you come up with the title?

For Soulmates it just came to me when I was in the middle of writing my book. It just seemed like the characters were all made for each other and even though life was pulling them apart they kept finding their way back to each other.

Aww, how sweet. It makes my romantic heart go all pitter-patter. 🙂 And what project are you working on now?

I am working on the third book of the Soulmates Series. This is Ryan’s story and he is the one in the group that doesn’t have much interaction with the rest of them. It’s been fun because it explores the life of a college athlete and I’ve been researching that as much as possible to make sure it is accurate.

Oooh, I bet the Ryan fans will be happy with reading his story. Time for the most important question! If you were asked to unload a 747 full of jelly beans, what would you do?

Oh boy, I would probably unload it at several colleges. Big groups of people and who doesn’t have a sweet tooth in college.

Ooh, smart! I didn’t think of that. Hmm, now I want some jelly beans. Give me a nice sugar rush for writing. How do you write: on a typewriter, computer, dictate or longhand?

Usually my computer, but a lot of times I will have to write on my cell phone when my daughter is taking a nap on me or playing with her. I transfer it from my phone and edit on my computer because it always looks a little crazy.

I never go anywhere without my phone. Never know when inspiration might hit, and goodness knows, I’ll forget! I swear I won’t, but I always do. Since you’re in the middle of writing a book series, what are your thoughts on writing one?

I love it! I think it helps you really get to know a big group of characters.

So true. I can’t get enough of series because I love learning about all of them in that set world. And how can our lovely readers discover more about you and you work?

Blog: https://nicoledykes.wordpress.com/
Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/13701591.Nicole_Dykes

Book Links:

Soulmates Series

On Amazon
Soulmates
Fate

3 thoughts on “Nicole Dykes – Interview with an Indie Author”

    1. Yeah, I miss the snuggles too, although I don’t miss my kid as a baby. He was a horrendous baby! I spent almost two years sleep deprived because would wake every half hour or so.

      For myself, with the phone, I just re-type it all onto the computer. So it’s time consuming and not the best thing to do. However, you can also use Google Docs. So create a word doc and it’ll be accessible no matter where you go. I’m not a huge fan because the formatting is terrible with Google Docs. I have to copy into Notepad to strip off their formatting and then paste it into my ongoing work.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

