Interview with Indie Authors

Rachel Chanticleer – Fangirl Worthy Indie Author

25257460

Hi Rachel, thanks so much for joining us today. How about you start off by telling us a bit about yourself?

Hi Veronica, and thank you for having me! A little bit about myself? Let’s see… I’m introspective and a bit introverted. Needless to say, I spend a lot of time in my own head. For better or worse! Hm… This is hard! Well, if you’re familiar with the DISC Profile, I’m a classic “C”. Just like Mr. Spock. I’m not sure if that’s good or bad…

I know what you mean. I love spending time in my head, but I also need time with other people too. What do you do when you are not writing?

Beat myself up for not writing! Kidding, I read of course, but wish I had more time for that, too. I dabble in photography; I love how one split second snapshot in time can convey so much. I’m a news junkie, always catching up on politics and current events. I also try to get in educational programming whenever something interesting is on–particularly shows about history, travel, religion, etc. Oh, and I’m a multi-fandom fangirl. Supernatural and MARVEL are the big ones.

You do keep yourself busy! Ah, Supernatural, what a great TV show. And I have to admit, I’ve become a bit of a fangirl for MARVEL as well. I used to be a DC girl. 😉 I guess it isn’t a far stretch of the imagine why you choice the genre you write in, huh?

The Paranormal Romance and Urban Fantasy genres are my favorites to read, so it was an easy choice.

Of course. I’m the same way. Love the genre and LOVE your short story. Where do you get your ideas?

Everywhere and anywhere! And unfortunately I’m pretty sure I have “Shiny New Idea Syndrome”, a term I’m borrowing from a Goodreads buddy which pretty much means I have a hard time focusing on one project at a time and–hey, wouldn’t it be great to write a series with… Wait, what were we talking about?

I’m not sure, I wanted to know about this new series! 😉 When you do come up with new ideas, do you work with an outline, or just write?

I sort of outline as I go, but nothing is set in stone. Oftentimes my characters surprise me.

They are surprising buggers, aren’t they? And with a mind of their own, too. Hmm, now to the most important question of this interview, who would win in a fight between Superman and Batman?

Ooh, that movie is coming out soon, isn’t it? Hm… I think I have to go with Batman. So very dark and brooding. And I’m sure he can afford Kryptonite.

Yes, it is. I love both characters, but even I admit that Batman would kick Superman’s butt. He has a contingency plan on all the other superheroes. Paranoid much? 😉 Which do you prefer: writing on a typewriter, computer, dictate or longhand?

Laptop. Sometimes I can’t even read my own chicken scratch. : /

Yeah, same here. I love using my computer. Plus, you have to enter all in again anyway. What made you decide to sit down and actually start something?

I’ve always had an overactive imagination and a tendency to daydream. But I’ll blame a certain persistent character of mine as the reason I actually started committing my reveries to paper. On a commute home from work, an image of a man standing on a hill as the sun set, everything awash in an orange glow, just popped into my mind. I had no idea who he was or what he was doing there, but eventually I filled in his story with more and more details. It got to the point where I decided I needed to write it all down, because it was clear he had no plans of leaving me be. His book is still a work in progress, but I hope to introduce Adrian Grayson Barnes to Paranormal Romance fans sometime soon.

Ooh, I can’t wait to read about him! And such an awesome name, too. What was your favorite chapter or part to write and why?

For The Hunter and the Witch, that’s an easy one–the very last line of the epilogue. I sort of saw the screen go black and the credits roll right after I typed it. You know how when you’re watching a movie in the theater, and you’re so into it and not expecting it to end just yet? But then it does, and you think, “Gah!” Lol, that’s how it felt for me anyway.

Thanks for hanging out with me today!

Nice! The ending is always the best part. And thank you for joining us. How can readers discover more about you and you work?

Blog: https://rachelchanticleer.wordpress.com/
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/WriterRachelChanticleer
Twitter: https://twitter.com/RaeChanticleer (@RaeChanticleer)
Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/13747199.Rachel_Chanticleer
Amazon Author Page: http://www.amazon.com/Rachel-Chanticleer/e/B00WZY2F5M/ref=ntt_athr_dp_pel_1
Smashwords: https://www.smashwords.com/profile/view/RachelWritesRomance

Book Links:

Crescent City Arcana Series

On Amazon
The Hunter and The Witch

On Barnes & Noble Nook
The Hunter and The Witch

On Kobo
The Hunter and The Witch

On iTunes
The Hunter and The Witch

On Smashwords
The Hunter and The Witch

1 thought on “Rachel Chanticleer – Fangirl Worthy Indie Author”

Leave a Reply

