Rambling about life

Quiet Weekend

My kid is energetic, talkative, loud, fidgety, creative, smart, curious, and exhausting. I tell him I’m giving him away because I can’t keep up. He just looks at me and guilt trips me. Yes, my almost 7 year old guilts me! He likes to say, “Mommy, you born me and that was a lot of hard work. Do you want to throw away all your hard work of making me and born’ing me? That was so much work. You can’t give me away.”

Where the hell did he learn such a mastery of guilt trips? I thought that was my job as his mother? Geez, I’m in so much trouble when he’s older. Already he runs circles around me. One of my friends likes to point out that I should just accept the fact that my kid is smarter than me. Oh I do, trust me, I do. I’m married to a geek/nerd who loves science, chemistry, and space. Yep, kid’s got his dad’s brains, not mine.

But that’s okay, because this weekend, this glorious weekend, he will be camping with his Scouts team. I will have one and a half days of quiet. Don’t get me wrong, I love my kid fiercely. Never thought it was possible to love someone as much as I love him. However, please see description of him above. Talkative and exhausting. He yammers about everything and anything. I’ve told him before he talks a lot, just like his mother, and he laughs and agrees.

He can’t sit still for a minute. We have an exercise ball in the living room. It’s not for me. Oh no, not in the least. It’s for him. When he’s watching TV, he’s bouncing on that damn thing. He has a game where he “surfs” on his belly on the ball and uses the loveseat to stop. He likes to drape himself over it on his back and balance.

But that’s okay. I will have some peace and quiet this weekend. Silence, blissful silence. And I’ll miss that little monster and his laughter while I put in some headphones and write.

2 thoughts on “Quiet Weekend”

  1. Oh the joy, headaches, giggles, and heartbreak of children. My son is 5 and my daughter is 2, and they continue to amaze me with their ability to completely change me and my outlook on life. You don’t create them, they create you. Have a great time on your ‘break’ this weekend!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. So true! That kid has helped increase my creativity – tell me a pretend story! – increased my patience, and helped me enjoy the smaller things in life. He’s also given me grey hairs. *laughs*

    Like

Leave a Reply

