About me

Geekiness

lego-doctor-who-kadigan

Before I begin, I want to define what the word “geek” means to me. It’s a person who loves and obsesses over something. They are passionate about it, whether it’s comics, games, computers, TV shows, action figures, etc.

Actually Simon Pegg said it best. “Being a geek is all about being honest about what you enjoy and not being afraid to demonstrate that affection. It means never having to play it cool about how much you like something. It’s basically a license to proudly emote on a somewhat childish level rather than behave like a supposed adult. Being a geek is extremely liberating.”

Over the years, the word geek no longer holds such a negative value. People proudly proclaim and embrace their geekiness. They have stepped out of their respective closets, no longer concerned with ridicule because now they have a place to congregate, the internet.

Myself, I’m a computer geek. I love hardware, tinkering with it and getting it running again. Don’t ask me to program, though. Software is not my pleasure. I’m also a sci-fi geek. I love Dr. Who, Star Trek (from TNG to Enterprise, but only the 4th season of Enterprise), Battlestar Galactica (the new one, not the old one, sorry! ;)), Farscape, Star Gate, and a few others that are escaping my mind. I’m a book geek. Paranormal romance and urban fantasy are my obsessions, and I will bore a person to tears when I’ve found a series to gush about.

But I’m not a nerd. I wish I was; I truly do. Nerds are smart, and I have average intelligence. I realized recently that my husband is a nerd and a geek. Yeah, thirteen years together and I finally figured this out. I always knew he was a geek, he helped expand my own geekiness. He introduced me to MMORPGs, D&D, and Forgotten Realms. But he also loves chemistry, astronomy, mathematics, and other scientific stuff that goes over my head. I smile and nod when he gets excited over nerdy stuff because half the time I have no idea what he’s talking about. The other half, it’s because his enthusiasm is contagious and I want to learn more.

Our kid will take after my husband. The little monster is fascinated with science. He wants to create a teleporter. I’ve told him if he does that, then he’ll be supporting me for the rest of my life, since he’ll be rich. Poor kid has actually agreed to this. Muahaha! Is it legally binding for me to have him sign a contract at the age of six? No? Damn…

Do you consider yourself a geek or a nerd? Or do you hate those labels? I was an outsider as a child, didn’t have many friends. I was a shy and quiet kid who would rather read then interact with others. I didn’t embrace the label of geek until my early 20s. Honestly, I never thought I was one until my husband introduced me to some of his passions. Now I like calling myself a geek. It lets others know that I will fangirl and squeal over certain things, so you can either join me or slowly back away. 😉

2 thoughts on “Geekiness”

Leave a Reply

