Razor-Sharp Editing

Editing

Way back when, over a year ago, I was a complete newb when it came to editing. I had no idea what I was doing other than the fact that I had a story to tell. I spent almost a year writing that story, going over it again and again until my eyes glazed. I thought everything looked great, told the story I wanted, and I published it.

What a big effing mistake! I didn’t know it at the time, but Magic Resistant was FULL of errors. Typos, plot holes, character inconsistences, a horrible usage of commas. *shudders* It was a nightmare.

And yet I happily went on my way finishing book 2, Sylvia’s Torment, and nearing completion on book 3, Dawn’s Keeper. I had also released the prequel novella, Throwing Away the Good, that had the benefit of me writing nearly three books. My soon to be editor, Elizabeth, had read TAtG and liked it. She asked if she could beta read the next one, which was Sylvia’s Torment. I said sure, not knowing exactly what it all entailed.

I figured she’d sent me a few notes about what she liked and didn’t like. Well was I wrong…

back history edit

praise
Like all good editors, she knows when to praise, because really, writers are needy souls who need an ego stroke.
trouble remembering
She reminded me that not everyone knows my stories as well as I do.
wrong height
And yet, she still paid attention to details within the story.
awkward
Don’t confuse the reader! 😉
Why not
And for pity’s sake, give reasons why the character is or isn’t doing something or else they seem “too stupid to live”.

semi colons Elizabeth is also kind enough to give me grammar lessons so I make fewer mistakes in my next WIP. In fact, when I sent her Dawn’s Keeper, I had a heck of a lot less red marks. Whoo-hoo, go me! If you’re in the market for an editor, then check out Elizabeth. Do it before her slots fill up! I still have another month before I’ll be harassing here for Chained in Desire, so I don’t mind sharing her… for now. 😉

I have the link for her website over here –> and maybe up just a tish.

But just in case, it’s http://www.razorsharpediting.com/

Visit Elizabeth, drop her a line, and start working with a wonderful editor.

Leave a Reply

