Reviews

Review: Dead and Kicking

Buy it here:

Dead and Kicking by Lisa Emme

4 out of 5 stars

I started this book last night and figured I’d read a chapter or two then watch an episode of Supernatural…. I did not watch Supernatural. And those of you who know me, know that I adore Jensen Ackles. So for me to give up staring at my favourite actor to read a book means something.

Harry, the female lead, amused me, although a few times I wanted to smack her upside the head for ignoring some obvious things. I loved that she was loyal and did the right thing even when it landed her into trouble. She didn’t cower away from it. Plus, she wasn’t a bitch! Some people feel that making a woman strong means she has to be a bitch. Ugh.

And Nash… well hello. Now there’s someone I want to wake up next to. While he was overbearing, he was still surprisingly sweet. And Harry, well, she didn’t put up with his shit.

The world building was decent. It slowly unwrapped without overwhelming or giving major info dumps. I want to learn more about Isaac, the vampire, as well as the Magistrate. Now there was one scary dude.

Overall, I enjoyed the story, I loved the characters, and I can’t wait to read more.

4 thoughts on “Review: Dead and Kicking”

Leave a Reply

