Interview with Indie Authors

Interview with H. R. Savage

My guest today is H. R. Savage and her debut book will be out May 24th. So exciting!

Tell us about yourself, H. R. Inquiring (or in my case, nosy;)) minds want to know. 

947770cc1ff1941396d1ba4af655aa92

I write under the pen name H.R. Savage, because my real name was already taken. I’m a stay-at-home mom to two beautiful children (age 6 and 3). I’ve always loved reading, and cracked open my first romance novel when I probably shouldn’t have. I think I was 8, and the title of the book was “Cowboy Takes a Wife” by Joan Johnston. I don’t think my dad fully understood what I was reading…or he was in denial 😉 I love wine, whiskey, Chinese food, and sleeping.

Ha! I started my romance obsession young, too. Harlequin as a lot to answer for. But I’m not complaining! And when you’re not writing, what do you do?

BigBadAlpha Teaser - Copy

I take classes here and there toward my degree, so I’m probably doing homework. I also play with my kids (or tear them apart from fighting), watch movies with the hubby, read as much as I can, and drag my feet while cleaning the house.

Ugh, homework. One thing I don’t miss. As for housework, a shame we can’t just ignore it. How did you decided the genre you’re writing in? What drew you to paranormal romance?

Breathing_Teaser - Copy

Lost in Vengeance really just came to me. I wasn’t determined to write in Paranormal. But I’m happy I did. Paranormal is fun because you get to create this magical world with creatures that don’t exist, but you treat them like they do. I loved creating backstories for every creature; their history, their culture, their laws. I love the genre and it’s usually my go-to read, but I don’t consider myself restricted to it. I have folders of ideas I want to write, and some of them are contemporary.

Beautifully put. Creating new history, cultures, and people is fascinating. Can’t wait to see the world you’ve created. How about a little peek into your upcoming novel?

ControlTeaser - Copy

Lost in Vengeance is an exciting story about revenge (obviously) and the choices that must be made along the way. While it is considered a story of revenge, I also consider it a story of a woman trying to find herself. Cat has been isolated almost her whole life, so going to Wolf Creek is a bit of a shock to her system. Here’s a synopsis for you:

Bloodcurdling screams haunt her memories…

Shifter Catrina Macintyre roamed the wilderness of Alaska as a lone wolf for six years. Imprisoned in her wolf form by a promise to her mother, she seeks the opportunity to discover the truth about her parents’ murders. When an Alpha saves her and takes her to his pack, she has to decide whether he will aide her…or destroy her.

Killian Stone is the Alpha of Wolf Creek, determined to save what the Shifter race is quick to dismiss or kill: lone-Shifters. After years of disappointment, finding Cat was a relief. That is until the intriguing and challenging she-wolf reveals that her past could put his pack in danger.

Their undeniable attraction toward each other threatens to collapse Cat’s defensive walls. She’s torn between the hope of a future, and the lingering pain of her past. The truth may be more than either of them anticipated, threatening not only Cat, but the whole Shifter race.

Will Killian convince Cat to abandon her quest for vengeance before it destroys them all?

And would you look at that gorgeous cover? A worthy addition to anyone’s bookshelf or e-reader. Is any of your work based on actual experiences?

HRSavage_LostinVengeance

None of the events or characters are really based off life experiences, but the location is for sure. I live about an hour away from Big Bear and my family vacations there pretty often. The dock mentioned in the story was inspired by one trip where we were walking along the lake and I noticed this kind of abandoned dock. The lake has been depleting since California’s drought so many owners have had to take their boats out of the water. The dock had tons of weeds growing around it and the gate was kind of broken. I thought it was perfect.

Gotta love when the smallest thing sets off a whirlwind in your mind. Now my next question is the most important: have you ever gone out in public with your shirt on backwards, or your slippers on, and when realizing it, just said screw it?

Kiss understatement

Well. I’m going to have to say yes to this one. As a mom of young children I find myself having situations like this often. Or where you go to the store not realizing that you still have the smeared makeup on from going to sleep with it. Chances are you’ll find me in pajamas more often than being dressed. Sweat pants are my best friend. Jeans are overrated.

Hear, hear! Jeans are overrated. Give me comfy clothes anytime. 😉 Let’s talk scenes. What was your favourite part or chapter to write?

Closeup portrait of a beautiful male model

Oh jeez. This is a hard one. I had so many scenes I loved to write. I guess I’ll have to say it’s a scene near the end when Cat is finally getting the closure she needs (I don’t want to give too big of a hint lol). I struggled with it so much, but at the same time, once I got really into it, I had tons of fun with it. Sure it’s kind of sinister to say so…but I totally had an evil smile going on the whole time I wrote it.

Ha! I totally get that. There are some parts so satisfying to write, even if it triggers your evil side. 😉 So now that you have Lost in Vengeance wrapped up and waiting to go live, what’s your next project?

 

SmileTeaser

I just finished book 2 in the Wolf Creek Shifters series, called Found in Hope (unless my editor changes it). While I’ve been waiting on Beta Readers to give me their notes, I started book 3 in the series.

Oooh, a series. I love series! Does that mean there are certain characters you would like to go back to, or is there a theme or idea you’d love to work with?

TonightTeaser - Copy

At this time, the only thing I’ve been thinking about really building up on are the witches. They have such an interesting background, and I think that there could be some awesome stories in there. I’m just not sure if I’ll go down that path yet.

Witches sound awesome. I’d read that! And what made you decide to sit down and actually start something?

I’ve actually been writing since I was really young. I remember finishing a novel in the 7th or 8th grade. It was 82-pages long and was probably awful, but I wanted to show my English teacher it. Unfortunately, this was around the time we were transitioning out of floppy disks and into USB’s and my computer decided to delete the file. Since then, I’ve started books but didn’t get past the 3rd or 4th chapter. But something happened with Lost in Vengeance. The passion stayed there and when things go hard, I got determined. I wanted to finally finish something. With a lot of encouragement and hard-work, Lost in Vengeance turned into a planned series, and I gained three binders worth of potential story material.

And how can your readers find you?

At this time, I don’t have any buy links, but I’d love if you’d check out my links below. I love to chat with people and you can get to know me. 🙂 Also, I’m having an awesome release party for Lost in Vengeance on May 28th that I would love to invite you to!

Release Event: https://www.facebook.com/events/179092942483719/

Website: http://www.hrsavage.com
Blog: http://www.inthebinding.wordpress.com
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/authorhrsavage
Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/authorhrsavage
Pinterest: https://www.pinterest.com/dimpledoo/

Thank you so much for joining us today. It was a pleasure having you here!

5 thoughts on “Interview with H. R. Savage”

      1. That it is. And good or bad, it doesn’t get old. There’s always something new to do or learn. Although there are days where quitting sounds like a good idea, until a character demands I keep writing. Or maybe I’m insane. Who knows? *laughs*

        Like

Leave a Reply

