Book Process

Calling All Beta Readers

Okay, maybe not all of you, just a few. 😉 I’m searching for someone who loves to rip stories apart – to be helpful, not to make me cry. I can handle constructive criticism, such as “This line makes him sound like a jerk.” and not “Wow, you think you can write? Damn, you should quit.” Because that is not constructive and is just mean.

But if you enjoy smoothing out stories, working on the flow, and the nitpicking things that don’t make sense, then I’d love to have you on board. Just fill out the form linked below, which is super easy because it’s simply your name and email address. I’ll send you the first two chapters for the novella I’m working on, and then you send back your thoughts. If we’re a good fit, then the rest of the story is sent along. And hey, if you don’t like what you read and don’t think you can do the beta read for whatever reason, then just let me know. No hard feelings.

I wish I had a blurb to share for this novella, which will be approximately 20k words, but I’ve been working flat out just getting this novella done. And I’m still about 4k short of finishing it, but it’ll be done soon! I can give you the gist of the novella, though. Who knows, maybe it’ll help me figure out a blurb.

Lilith has spent sixty years in an insane asylum, unresponsive to the outside world. She’d made the mistake of trusting the wrong Fae, and in a moment of weakness made a promise she’d forever have to keep. Now she must dance to the mad Queen Titania’s tune, even if it means her own death.

Caymus has always obeyed his Queen, even when he didn’t agree with her. Hard to disobey when he was bound by magic to do so. His latest assignment is one he doesn’t want to complete – infiltrate a demon stronghold and retrieve a stolen item. He has no choice, not even when Titania demands Lilith’s inclusion on the mission.

Okay, so that’s rough. Wow, I think I got splinters from it. But you get the gist, right? Something’s going down and the Queen is calling the shots. So anyway, back to the original point of my post, if you enjoy beta reading and want to give it a try with me, just fill out the form and I’ll get back to you.

http://goo.gl/forms/4sJ98xANdpXZXKLl2

Leave a Reply

