Reviews

Reveiw: Blackbirds & Bourbon

Purchase here:  Blackbirds and Bourbon

Blackbirds & Bourbon, Toil & Trouble #2 by Heather R. Blair

10 out of 5 stars – What? I’m allowed. It’s my blog! 😉

Oh my god, look at that amazing cover! And trust me, you want to judge this book by its cover because the story was stunning.

I devoured this story and finished it in one day. However, I had also badgered (again!) poor Heather into letting me have an early copy. I couldn’t help it. PS, this only works because we’re friends, so please, don’t badger her. I do it out of love. 😉

Now, because we’re friends, that doesn’t mean I’m pulling any punches with this review. I’m not sugarcoating or blowing smoke. I seriously loved this book.

Jack has me twisted in knots. Is he good? Isn’t he? I want to believe the best in him, but damn it, he’s done some dodgy things. We see a lot more of him in this story and I understand where he’s coming from. Doesn’t mean I want him hurting Seph.

And wow, Seph. Not many women in stories I adore, but she is one of them. She’s had a harsh go of it lately, although I’m not saying what because of spoilers. She’s been a little mopey, which was justified and at one point she decides to wrestle the beast to the ground, so to speak. It kinda backfires on her, but she doesn’t care. She’s determined to defeat the prophecy told about her.

If you haven’t read this series, you should. I’m now anxious for the last one in the series and this book isn’t even out yet! Arrrg. Why do I do this to myself?

Leave a Reply

